What does Southside Bancshares do?
Southside Bancshares, Inc. is a Texas bank holding company whose operating subsidiary, Southside Bank, provides commercial banking, consumer banking, mortgage, municipal lending, treasury management, trust, wealth-management, brokerage, and digital banking services. The common stock trades under SBSI on the New York Stock Exchange and NYSE Texas. The company is headquartered in Tyler and concentrates its franchise in East and Southeast Texas plus the Dallas–Fort Worth, Austin, Houston, and Central Texas markets. Its investor overview reported approximately $8.80 billion of assets and 55 branches as of March 31, 2026.
Why does the franchise matter in Texas banking?
Southside combines a community-banking base with metropolitan commercial markets. Its official company profile emphasizes relationship banking and local decisions; the balance sheet adds material commercial real estate, construction, residential, commercial, and municipal exposure. The analytical question is whether local knowledge and Texas growth can support attractive spreads without excessive concentration.
How does Southside Bancshares make money?
Southside earns most revenue from net interest income: interest on loans and securities less the cost of deposits and borrowings. Q1 2026 net interest income was $57.7 million versus $12.6 million of noninterest income, making asset yield, deposit pricing, loan growth, and funding mix the dominant levers.
Spread income is the primary earnings engine
Loans are priced for risk, collateral, rates, and relationship value, then funded by deposits and wholesale sources. In Q1 2026, total deposit cost fell to 2.13% from 2.16% in Q4 2025, helping tax-equivalent net interest margin reach 3.01%.
Fee businesses diversify but do not replace the spread
Fees diversify earnings without using as much balance-sheet capacity. Q1 2026 included $5.9 million of deposit-service income, $2.2 million of trust fees, $1.4 million of brokerage revenue, and $1.0 million of bank-owned life-insurance income, but spread income still dominated.
| Revenue source | Q1 2026 amount | How it is generated | Key sensitivity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net interest income | $57.7M | Yield on loans and securities less funding cost | Rate changes, deposit beta, asset mix, and loan growth |
| Deposit services | $5.9M | Account and transaction services | Customer activity, competition, and fee regulation |
| Trust and brokerage | $3.6M combined | Asset administration, fiduciary, and brokerage services | Client retention, asset values, and advisor productivity |
| Other fee categories | $3.1M combined | BOLI, loan sales, and other operating income | Transaction volume and one-time variability |
Which loans and deposits matter most?
Because Southside is primarily one banking operation, the useful “segment” analysis is its loan and deposit mix. At March 31, 2026, loans were $4.95 billion, led by $2.75 billion of commercial real estate, $717.3 million of residential mortgages, and $641.8 million of construction loans.
Commercial property creates both growth and concentration
Local knowledge can improve CRE and construction sourcing, but occupancy, lease-up, completion, insurance, refinancing, and property values can weaken together. Q1 2026 growth was led by $93.2 million more construction loans and $40.6 million more CRE loans, increasing exposure to the book’s largest risk cluster.
Deposit quality determines how profitable that growth becomes
Deposits were $6.87 billion at March 31, 2026. Noninterest-bearing balances were 20.0%, estimated uninsured deposits were 38.4%, and uninsured or uncollateralized deposits were 21.9% after exclusions. The bank had 178,823 accounts, but brokered deposits rose 16.5% as retail deposits fell 1.6%, increasing price sensitivity.
| Portfolio category | March 31, 2026 | Linked-quarter change | Research implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial real estate | $2.75B | +$40.6M | Largest loan category; refinancing and property cash flows matter most. |
| Construction | $641.8M | +$93.2M | Fastest-growing major category; completion and lease-up risk are important. |
| Retail deposits | Not separately disclosed in the release | −$82.0M | Decline partly offset by more brokered funding, which can raise pricing sensitivity. |
| Brokered deposits | Not separately disclosed in the release | +$110.7M | Supports liquidity and growth, but may be less relationship-based than core deposits. |
What does Southside Bancshares’ latest quarter show?
The latest reported period is the quarter ended March 31, 2026. Southside’s Q1 2026 earnings release shows improving spread income, loan growth, lower nonperforming assets, expense pressure, and greater brokered-deposit use.
Core earnings improved as funding costs eased
Net interest income rose 7.1% year over year to $57.7 million, while tax-equivalent margin improved 15 basis points from Q1 2025 and 3 basis points from Q4 2025. Lower funding costs helped, and redeeming $93 million of 7.51% notes should reduce future interest expense after a $0.8 million Q1 redemption loss.
Asset quality improved, but the mix still deserves scrutiny
Nonperforming assets fell to $9.7 million, or 0.11% of assets, from $38.2 million at year-end 2025, mainly because a $27.5 million restructured CRE loan was repaid. The allowance was $46.0 million, or 0.93% of loans, and net charge-offs were $0.2 million. The improvement is favorable but partly payoff-driven.
| Metric | Q1 2026 | Q1 2025 or prior period | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Net income | $23.3M | $21.5M in Q1 2025 | Higher spread and fee income more than offset expense and provision growth. |
| Noninterest expense | $40.6M | $37.1M in Q1 2025 | Up 9.4%; salaries, technology, other costs, and debt-redemption expense increased. |
| Loans | $4.95B | $4.82B at Dec. 31, 2025 | 2.7% linked-quarter growth, concentrated in construction and CRE. |
| Deposits | $6.87B | $6.87B at Dec. 31, 2025 | Nearly flat overall, but the source mix moved toward brokered deposits. |
| CET1 capital ratio | 12.68% | 12.87% at Dec. 31, 2025 | Still solid, though loan growth and capital actions can change the buffer. |
The full Form 10-Q for March 31, 2026 provides the accounting detail behind these figures, including securities valuation, credit allowances, derivatives, capital, commitments, and interest-rate sensitivity.
Which strategic turning points shaped Southside?
Southside’s current model reflects acquisitions, geographic expansion, balance-sheet repositioning, and leadership succession. These events explain how an East Texas franchise gained metropolitan commercial exposure.
-
1960Southside Bank was founded in Texas. The long operating record supports local brand recognition and relationship continuity.
-
1982Southside Bancshares was incorporated as the holding-company structure, separating public-company capital management from the regulated bank subsidiary.
-
2014The OmniAmerican combination expanded the North Texas presence and added commercial, mortgage, and deposit relationships in the Fort Worth area.
-
2017The acquisition of Diboll State Bancshares deepened East Texas scale and added experienced regional leadership.
-
2025Southside issued $150.0 million of 7.00% fixed-to-floating subordinated notes due 2035, strengthening regulatory capital while increasing funding cost.
-
2025The bank sold $32.3 million more in AFS securities losses for the year, deliberately repositioning lower-yield assets and depressing GAAP earnings.
-
2026Keith Donahoe became CEO on January 1, succeeding Lee Gibson, and the bank redeemed $93 million of 7.51% notes in February to lower future funding expense.
The current strategic tension is growth versus funding discipline
Southside is growing metropolitan Texas loans while managing a large securities book and deposit competition. The 2025 restructuring sacrificed current earnings for better prospective yields; issuing long-term capital supported growth, while redeeming costly legacy notes protected margin. Success depends on containing brokered funding, credit concentration, and overhead.
What gives Southside a competitive advantage?
Southside’s moat rests on long Texas relationships, local credit knowledge, a broad product set, and a branch-plus-digital deposit franchise. Local decision-making can matter in CRE, municipal lending, and owner-managed business banking, where borrower context and execution speed affect outcomes.
Relationship depth can lower acquisition costs and improve information
Customers using deposits, treasury, loans, trust, and brokerage services are harder to displace. Cross-product cash-flow information can also improve underwriting and pricing, though it does not eliminate credit loss.
Who pressures the franchise?
Competition includes Frost Bank, Prosperity Bancshares, Independent Bank Group, national banks, credit unions, fintechs, and nonbank lenders. Southside cannot win every product on price; it must retain profitable relationships and execute faster or more personally where local knowledge adds value.
| Competitive force | Southside position | Pressure point |
|---|---|---|
| Texas regional banks | Comparable relationship model and local market knowledge | Deposit pricing, lender talent, and commercial-client switching |
| National banks | Less scale, but potentially closer local decision-making | Technology budgets, product breadth, and pricing power |
| Fintech and nonbank lenders | Stronger regulated deposit base and relationship breadth | Speed, user experience, and specialized underwriting |
| Customer bargaining power | Multi-product relationships can reduce churn | Large commercial customers can negotiate deposit and loan pricing aggressively |
How strong are capital, liquidity, and credit quality?
Bank strength depends on capital, liquidity, deposits, credit quality, and earnings. At March 31, 2026, Southside had $2.68 billion of contingent liquidity, a 12.68% CET1 ratio, a 16.95% total risk-based capital ratio, and a 9.74% Tier 1 leverage ratio.
Annual results were distorted by securities repositioning
Southside’s 2025 annual results showed net income down 21.8% to $69.2 million and EPS down 21.3% to $2.29. Yet net interest income rose 2.3% to $221.1 million. A $32.3 million AFS securities loss, versus $2.5 million in 2024, distorted the GAAP comparison.
Capital allocation balances dividends, repurchases, and reinvestment
Southside paid a $0.36 Q1 2026 dividend and declared another $0.36 in May. It repurchased 369,804 shares in Q4 2025 at $28.84 on average and retained authorization for about 0.8 million shares. Its dividend history matters because distributions compete with growth and capital buffers.
| Financial-strength measure | Latest value | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Shareholders’ equity | $854.9M at March 31, 2026 | Absorbs losses and supports regulatory capital. |
| Allowance for loan losses | $46.0M, or 0.93% of loans | Reserve adequacy must be evaluated against CRE and construction concentrations. |
| Available contingent liquidity | $2.68B | Provides access to FHLB, Federal Reserve, and correspondent lines. |
| Subordinated notes | $147.5M net at March 31, 2026 | Adds capital flexibility but creates interest expense and refinancing considerations. |
Who owns Southside Bancshares stock, and how is it governed?
Southside has one common share class and no founder control. The 2026 proxy reported 29,743,585 shares outstanding. BlackRock held 13.6%, Vanguard 7.3% based on older information, and directors and executives as a group 5.1%.
| Holder or group | Reported ownership | Source period | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| BlackRock, Inc. | 4,043,073 shares; 13.6% | Holdings as of Sept. 30, 2025 | Large passive ownership can influence governance voting without operating control. |
| The Vanguard Group | 2,162,164 shares; 7.3% | Holdings as of Dec. 31, 2023 | The proxy warns that the figure may not reflect current ownership. |
| Directors and executives | 1,511,114 shares; 5.1% | March 16, 2026 | Meaningful alignment exists, but no insider group controls the company. |
| Herbert C. Buie | 657,128 shares; 2.2% | March 16, 2026 | Largest individually listed insider holding in the proxy table. |
Leadership succession is a live governance variable
Keith Donahoe became CEO on January 1, 2026; former CEO Lee Gibson retired as an executive but remained a director. The board expected 13 directors after the 2026 meeting, with all except Donahoe and Gibson independent under NYSE rules. The official board page provides current biographies.
Incentives use EPS, loan growth, ROATCE, NPAs, and qualitative goals. In 2025, adjusted EPS and ROATCE performed near target, while loan-growth and NPA goals earned no payout.
What opportunities and risks could change the story?
Opportunities include Texas commercial growth, lower funding costs, higher securities yields, more fee revenue, and operating leverage. Risks include property stress, deposit competition, rate volatility, cyber incidents, vendor dependence, regulation, and leadership execution.
The upside case is margin normalization plus disciplined Texas growth
Lower deposit costs, replacement of expensive funding, and disciplined loan production could expand net interest income without excessive asset growth. Securities reinvestment and deeper trust, brokerage, treasury, and deposit relationships offer additional upside.
The downside case is correlated property and funding pressure
Downside pressure could combine higher refinancing costs, weaker leasing, construction delays, and deposit repricing. The 2025 Form 10-K also highlights cyber, vendor, regulatory, liquidity, rate, personnel, and acquisition risks.
Which KPIs matter most for valuation?
Southside valuation depends on margin, deposit mix, credit losses, efficiency, tangible book value, capital, and distributions. Dividend-discount or excess-return models fit banks because debt is an operating input.
Margin and tangible-book compounding drive intrinsic value
Q1 2026 tangible book value was $21.94 per share, up from $20.19 a year earlier, and ROATCE was 14.39%. Value creation requires returns above the cost of equity while retaining enough earnings to compound tangible book; securities losses, credit costs, or dilution can interrupt that process.
| Valuation driver | Latest reference point | Modeling question |
|---|---|---|
| Net interest margin | 3.01% tax-equivalent, Q1 2026 | How much funding-cost relief is sustainable, and how quickly do asset yields reset? |
| Loan growth | 2.7% linked quarter, Q1 2026 | Can growth remain profitable after credit costs and capital consumption? |
| Credit cost | $1.0M loan-loss provision; $0.2M net charge-offs, Q1 2026 | What normalized provision is appropriate for a CRE-heavy portfolio? |
| Efficiency | 54.98% tax-equivalent ratio, Q1 2026 | Will technology and personnel costs create future operating leverage? |
| Capital return | $0.36 quarterly dividend; 0.8M repurchase shares authorized | How much capital can be distributed without constraining growth or resilience? |
What is the key takeaway from Southside Bancshares analysis?
Southside is a Texas relationship bank with scale across metropolitan and community markets, but local credit and funding conditions remain decisive. Its earnings engine is straightforward: gather deposits, lend into commercial and household relationships, hold securities, and supplement spread income with deposit, trust, brokerage, and other fees.
The latest evidence is constructive. Q1 2026 produced $23.3 million of net income, $0.78 of diluted EPS, 2.7% linked-quarter loan growth, a 3.01% tax-equivalent margin, and a reduction in nonperforming assets to 0.11% of total assets. Capital and contingent liquidity remained solid. However, construction and commercial real estate dominate incremental and existing credit exposure, brokered deposits increased, and noninterest expense grew faster than core revenue.
5-Year Financial Model
40+ Charts & Metrics
DCF & Multiple Valuation
Free Email Support
Disclaimer
All information, articles, and product details provided on this website are for general informational and educational purposes only. We do not claim any ownership over, nor do we intend to infringe upon, any trademarks, copyrights, logos, brand names, or other intellectual property mentioned or depicted on this site. Such intellectual property remains the property of its respective owners, and any references here are made solely for identification or informational purposes, without implying any affiliation, endorsement, or partnership.
We make no representations or warranties, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, completeness, or suitability of any content or products presented. Nothing on this website should be construed as legal, tax, investment, financial, medical, or other professional advice. In addition, no part of this site—including articles or product references—constitutes a solicitation, recommendation, endorsement, advertisement, or offer to buy or sell any securities, franchises, or other financial instruments, particularly in jurisdictions where such activity would be unlawful.
All content is of a general nature and may not address the specific circumstances of any individual or entity. It is not a substitute for professional advice or services. Any actions you take based on the information provided here are strictly at your own risk. You accept full responsibility for any decisions or outcomes arising from your use of this website and agree to release us from any liability in connection with your use of, or reliance upon, the content or products found herein.
