Data I/O Corporation (DAIO) Company Overview

US | Technology | Hardware, Equipment & Parts | NASDAQ

What does Data I/O Corporation do?

Data I/O Corporation is a Redmond, Washington electronics-manufacturing technology company listed on Nasdaq as DAIO. Before programmable semiconductors can operate in vehicles, industrial equipment, medical products, payment terminals, or connected devices, firmware, configuration data, or security credentials must be loaded and verified. Data I/O supplies the equipment, software, adapters, security tools, and services for that step.

1972
Business founded; more than five decades in device programming
3
Operating locations: Redmond, Munich-area Germany, and Shanghai
170
Approximate customers served during FY2025
8 of 9
Top automotive-electronics suppliers served, per company disclosures

Where does the company sit in the semiconductor value chain?

Data I/O operates between chip design and final assembly. OEM firmware or security files are loaded into semiconductors through its platforms, then programmed devices move into customer production lines. The official company overview calls this the technology behind the technology.

01
Design file
OEM develops firmware, configuration data, or security credentials.
02
Programming job
Software converts the file into a controlled, traceable production process.
03
Device provisioning
Manual or automated systems load and verify data on the semiconductor.
04
Factory integration
Programmed devices enter an OEM or EMS assembly line.
05
End product
The chip powers a vehicle module, industrial control, medical device, or IoT product.

Products, customers, and geographic reach

The portfolio includes PSV automated systems, LumenX and FlashCORE manual programmers, socket adapters, ConneX factory software, maintenance, parts, and SentriX security provisioning. The PSV7000 supports up to 112 sockets and 2,000 devices per hour; manual systems cover engineering, new-product introduction, repair, and lower-volume production. In FY2025, 94% of revenue was international, exposing results to global industrial demand, tariffs, currencies, and customer investment cycles.

How does Data I/O make money?

Data I/O combines equipment sales with installed-base revenue. Automated systems were listed at roughly $150,000 to $210,000 and manual systems at $8,000 to $11,000 in the FY2025 filing. Deployed systems then generate demand for package-specific adapters, software, maintenance, parts, algorithm support, and managed services. This aftermarket layer follows utilization and device changes, not only new factory-capacity decisions.

Which revenue streams are largest?

Revenue by type — FY2025
Platform sales$9.0M
Adapter sales$7.9M
Software & services$4.6M
Platform revenue remained the largest individual category, but adapters plus software and services represented 58% of FY2025 revenue.

The FY2025 Form 10-K reported FY2025 revenue of $8.997 million from platforms, $7.903 million from adapters, and $4.600 million from software and services. Platforms declined 14.0%; adapters rose 9.9% and software and services rose 11.9%.

Why is the recurring-revenue shift strategically important?

Q1 2026 revenue mix
Adapters — $1.520M — 47%
Software and services — $1.105M — 34%
Platforms — $0.625M — 19%
Consumable adapters and services represented 81% of Q1 2026 revenue as platform shipments dropped sharply.

Adapters and services do not make Data I/O a subscription company, but they reduce dependence on large machine orders. The planned on-site Programming-as-a-Service model would install and manage programming at customer facilities for a per-unit fee. The core metric would shift from systems shipped to devices processed, utilization, fee per unit, and service margin.

Revenue stream FY2025 revenue Economic driver Analytical implication
Platforms $8.997M Capacity expansion, process upgrades, new technology Highest timing volatility and fixed-cost absorption impact.
Adapters $7.903M Installed-base utilization and new semiconductor packages Repeat purchases deepen switching costs and smooth revenue.
Software and services $4.600M Maintenance, parts, algorithms, added capabilities Best bridge toward recurring and managed-service economics.
PaaS Early-stage; not separately disclosed Per-unit programming volume at customer sites Could increase visibility but requires service execution and working capital.

What does Data I/O's latest quarter show?

Q1 2026 was weak on revenue and profit but stronger on forward indicators. Sales fell to $3.250 million from $6.176 million as platform revenue dropped to $625,000 from $3.054 million. Management cited delayed purchases, tariffs, AI-infrastructure budget shifts, and reassessment of electric-vehicle capacity; restructuring costs further burdened the smaller revenue base.

$3.250M
Q1 2026 net sales; down 47.4% year over year
49.5%
Q1 2026 gross margin; 51.6% in Q1 2025
$4.2M
Q1 2026 bookings; up from $3.1M in Q4 2025
$2.6M
Backlog at March 31, 2026; $1.6M at year-end 2025

Latest income-statement and cash-flow signals

Metric Q1 2026 Q1 2025 Interpretation
Net sales $3.250M $6.176M Equipment timing drove the contraction.
Gross profit $1.609M $3.188M Lower volume weakened cost absorption.
Operating loss $(3.144)M $(0.377)M Restructuring amplified the loss.
Net loss $(3.170)M $(0.382)M Q1 2026 diluted loss was $0.34 per share.
Operating cash flow $(2.227)M $0.109M Cash burn required external financing.
Capital expenditures $0.008M $0.056M Operations, not capex, drove cash pressure.

The Q1 2026 Form 10-Q shows R&D of $1.291 million, down 14.8%, while SG&A rose to $3.462 million from $2.050 million. About $1.217 million of one-time items included $1.008 million for Germany restructuring.

What improved beneath the headline loss?

Bookings
$4.2M
Q1 2026, versus $3.1M in Q4 2025 and $4.6M in Q1 2025.
Backlog
$2.6M
March 31, 2026, up 62.5% from $1.6M at December 31, 2025.
Q2 revenue guidance
$5.0M–$5.4M
Company guidance issued May 14, 2026, implying roughly 20% sequential organic growth.

Orders and backlog matter because a few automated systems can shift quarterly revenue. The Q1 2026 earnings release characterized Q1 as a trough, but Q2 conversion, gross-margin recovery, and lower operating expense must confirm that view.

Which turning points define “The NEW Data I/O”?

Data I/O's history matters because the current strategy is not a clean-sheet software pivot. It seeks to monetize decades of programming algorithms, installed equipment, and customer relationships through more service-oriented offerings. The relevant milestones changed the platform, revenue mix, or use of external capital.

  1. 1972
    The operating business was founded, establishing the engineering base and industry relationships that underpin the current device-support library.
  2. 1990s–2010s
    Data I/O expanded from engineering programmers toward automated high-volume systems, linking its economics more closely to global electronics manufacturing.
  3. 2020
    SentriX security deployment broadened the proposition from loading firmware to provisioning device identity, secure boot, and cryptographic credentials.
  4. 2024
    William Wentworth became president in September and CEO in October, initiating a strategic and operational reset.
  5. 2025
    The company modernized go-to-market systems, reorganized operations, strengthened cyber infrastructure, and refreshed its core platform.
  6. November 2025
    LumenX2 and LumenX2-M4 launched at productronica, supporting a unified architecture from engineering through high-volume production.
  7. April–July 2026
    Data I/O launched on-site Programming-as-a-Service, announced an acquisition LOI, raised $9 million, and received shareholder approval for the convertible-security structure.

Why the unified platform matters

A common architecture helps customers move from prototypes to mass production. Jobs built on manual programmers can transfer to automated systems, while shared adapters and software improve reuse. LumenX2 emphasizes faster programming, broader microcontroller support, large image files, and secure job handling—useful as packages and firmware change while factories demand traceability and low defects.

The strategic question is whether Data I/O can turn a technically valuable installed base into a larger stream of service, adapter, software, and per-unit programming revenue before cyclical equipment weakness consumes too much cash.

What gives Data I/O a competitive advantage?

Data I/O's moat is narrow but tangible: process qualification, programming algorithms, device support, factory integration, reliability, and switching costs. Automotive and industrial customers value throughput, global support, configuration control, IP protection, and security. Replacing a validated supplier can require engineering work, adapters, requalification, operator training, and renewed quality assurance.

Installed base, algorithms, and customer trust

Device algorithm libraryStrong
Automotive customer validationStrong
Recurring revenue depthDeveloping
Financial scaleLimited
Customer diversificationConcentrated

The company says it is roughly twice the size of its nearest competitor and serves eight of the top nine automotive-electronics suppliers, although no independent published market-share report is available. The most defensible resource is therefore not a precise share statistic; it is the combination of installed equipment, production history, software algorithms, customer qualifications, and global support. The PSV7000 product page illustrates this integration through high socket density, throughput, multiple media formats, inspection options, secure provisioning, and connected-factory software.

Who are the competitors and substitutes?

Competition includes regional equipment vendors, customer-built systems, and post-placement methods such as in-circuit test, in-system programming, end-of-line downloading, and over-the-air updates. Security provisioning also faces software-centric and semiconductor-vendor tools. These substitutes limit pricing power, so differentiation depends on total process economics, traceability, throughput, and support rather than machine specifications alone.

How financially strong is Data I/O?

At December 31, 2025, Data I/O had $7.901 million of cash, $12.270 million of working capital, a 3.3 current ratio, and no debt. By March 31, 2026, cash had fallen to $5.707 million and equity to $10.462 million after a $3.170 million quarterly loss. The June financing added $9 million of gross proceeds but introduced preferred equity, warrants, conversion risk, and a 4% financing cost.

FY2025 operating base
$21.500M revenue
Gross margin was 49.3%; net loss was $5.236M.
Q1 2026 liquidity
$5.707M cash
Operating cash use was $2.227M in the quarter.
June 2026 financing
$9.000M gross
Common shares, preferred stock, and warrants increase liquidity and dilution.

Margins and cost structure

Gross-margin gauge — Q1 2026
49.5%
Gross profit was $1.609 million on $3.250 million of Q1 2026 sales. The margin remained near 50%, but gross dollars were too small to support the company's R&D and SG&A base.
A high percentage margin does not guarantee profitability when quarterly platform volume is low.

Operating leverage is the central financial problem. Data I/O must fund engineering, algorithm support, sales, and global service even when equipment shipments pause. FY2025 R&D was $6.531 million, or 30.4% of revenue, and SG&A was $9.181 million, or 42.7%. Management targets about $1.8 million of annualized savings, but profitability still requires revenue recovery and successful integration.

Cash conversion and capital allocation

Financial measure FY2025 Q1 2026 What it says
Operating cash flow $(2.227)M $(2.227)M The first quarter alone matched the full-year 2025 operating cash outflow.
Capital expenditures $0.558M $0.008M The model is not plant-heavy; losses and working capital drive cash burn.
Approximate free cash flow $(2.785)M $(2.235)M Calculated as operating cash flow less capital expenditures.
Cash balance $7.901M $5.707M Liquidity fell before the June financing closed.
Regular dividend / buyback None None Capital is being directed toward operations, products, and strategic transactions.

Who owns Data I/O stock, and how is control changing?

Data I/O historically had dispersed ownership, an activist-oriented holder, and modest insider stakes. The 2026 financing brought Laurence W. Lytton-related entities into the shareholder base and created convertible preferred stock and warrants. Common shares retain one vote each and there is no founder-controlled dual class, but dilution and holder concentration now matter more.

Major holders and insider alignment

Holder or group Reported stake Source period Governance implication
Laurence W. Lytton and related entities 1,026,424 shares; 9.9% Schedule 13G, event date June 17, 2026 New financing partner holds a significant position under a 9.99% cap.
Kanen Wealth Management group 839,421 shares; 8.94% Proxy disclosure based on May 22, 2025 filing Garrett Larson's board role reinforces influence.
William Wentworth 114,392 shares; 1.20% May 19, 2026 record date Includes 75,000 options exercisable within 60 days.
Directors and current/former executives as a group 390,454 shares; 4.058% May 19, 2026 record date Insiders have alignment, not control.

The ownership figures are drawn from the 2026 proxy statement and the June 2026 Schedule 13G. The proxy identified five independent directors and one non-independent director, CEO William Wentworth, before the annual meeting. Edward Smith became independent board chair in December 2025, separating the chair and CEO roles.

What did shareholders approve in July 2026?

96.05%of votes cast for or against approved the potential 20%-plus share issuance and related deemed change of control on July 8, 2026.

After shareholder approval, the $6.825 million convertible note automatically converted into 6,841.33 shares of Series B preferred stock. Each preferred share carries a $1,000 stated value and a 4% cumulative dividend, and the preferred is convertible into common stock at an initial $2.50 conversion price, subject to limits and adjustments. Warrants cover 1.080 million common shares at $3.00 per share. The July 2026 Form 8-K confirms both the vote and the automatic conversion.

The acquisition and PaaS shift could reshape the revenue mix

In May 2026, Data I/O signed a letter of intent to acquire an unnamed semiconductor-handling and packaging company for about $23 million. Management said the target could nearly double revenue, add earnings and cash flow, diversify beyond automotive, and provide infrastructure for on-site Programming-as-a-Service. Up to $3 million of stock would be contingent on future performance.

Data I/O standalone
$21.5M
FY2025 revenue, concentrated in programming systems, adapters, and services.
Proposed acquisition
~$23M
Expected total consideration under the May 2026 LOI.
Scale objective
Nearly 2×
Management's stated expectation for combined annual revenue after closing.

Why this transaction could be strategically coherent

Semiconductor handling and packaging sit adjacent to device programming. Combining them could let Data I/O manage more of the production step, improve utilization of acquired service infrastructure, and offer manufacturers a bundled on-site process. A broader customer set spanning semiconductor companies, EMS providers, and OEMs may also reduce reliance on automotive capital spending. The official acquisition announcement explicitly links the target to programming, services, and at-test capabilities.

Why the deal also increases execution risk

The target was unnamed, audited economics were not disclosed, and a letter of intent is not a completed deal. Data I/O must finish diligence, negotiate definitive documents, fund the balance, integrate operations, retain customers and employees, and realize synergies. Because the price is large relative to standalone revenue and assets, weaker margins, working-capital needs, integration costs, concentration, or hidden liabilities could destroy value.

What risks and KPIs should researchers monitor?

Data I/O's risks reinforce one another: automotive concentration increases cyclicality; lower platform volume weakens fixed-cost absorption; losses consume cash; and limited liquidity raises financing costs. The acquisition could interrupt that chain through scale and diversification, or worsen it through dilution and integration expense. Monitoring must therefore combine operating, cash-flow, and capital-structure metrics.

Company-specific risk map

Risk Evidence Financial line affected What to watch
Automotive concentration 64% of FY2025 bookings Bookings, platforms, gross profit Share of new orders from non-automotive customers.
Customer concentration Three customers generated 41% of FY2025 sales Revenue and receivables Any customer above 10% and payment timing.
International exposure 94% of FY2025 revenue was international Revenue, currency, taxes, cash access Tariffs, regional demand, and repatriation costs.
Cybersecurity 2025 ransomware incident disrupted sales processes and raised costs SG&A, bookings, reputation Further incidents, remediation spending, control disclosures.
Financing and dilution Preferred conversion plus 1.080M warrants Share count, interest/dividends, per-share value Conversions, warrant exercises, and acquisition funding.
Acquisition execution Proposed consideration is large relative to standalone scale Cash, goodwill, operating expense, margins Definitive terms, target financials, integration milestones.

KPIs that explain the business better than revenue alone

Bookings and book-to-bill
Q1 2026 book-to-bill was about 1.29×. Sustained readings above 1.0× support recovery.
Backlog conversion
Backlog reached $2.6M at March 31, 2026. Track conversion and replacement orders.
Platform share
Platforms were 19% of Q1 2026 revenue. Recovery aids scale but restores cyclicality.
Recurring-like mix
Adapters plus services were 81% of Q1 2026 revenue. Track mix during recovery.
Gross-margin dollars
Q1 2026 gross margin was 49.5%, but $1.609M of gross profit could not cover operating costs.
Operating cash flow
Q1 2026 operating cash use was $2.227M. Positive cash flow would validate restructuring.
PaaS unit economics
Units, pricing, utilization, and margin remain undisclosed; they will define PaaS economics.
Fully diluted share count
Track preferred conversions, warrants, acquisition equity, and awards.
BookingsBacklogBook-to-billPlatform mixService mixGross profit dollarsOperating cash flowDiluted shares

Why does Data I/O's business model matter for valuation?

A simple revenue multiple can mislead because Data I/O spans several economic models. Platforms resemble cyclical industrial equipment; adapters and maintenance behave like installed-base aftermarket revenue; PaaS targets managed-service economics. The acquisition may also change scale, margins, capital needs, and risk. Valuation should separate organic recovery from transaction effects and use a fully diluted share count.

DCF or comparable-company driver Current anchor Valuation sensitivity
Organic revenue growth Q2 2026 guidance of $5.0M–$5.4M Tests whether Q1 was a trough.
Revenue mix 81% adapters plus services in Q1 2026 Repeatability can improve forecast confidence.
Gross-margin dollars $1.609M in Q1 2026 Absolute gross profit must cover fixed costs.
Operating expense normalization Approximately $1.8M annualized savings target Sets the breakeven revenue level.
Acquisition economics Approximately $23M proposed consideration Target margins, funding, and integration may dominate value.
Dilution Preferred conversion and 1.080M warrants Per-share value must include common equivalents.
Terminal risk Small scale, cyclical demand, substitutes, customer concentration Supports cautious terminal growth and a higher discount rate.

A practical DCF can start with standalone FY2025 revenue, model recovery from bookings and backlog, normalize operating expense after restructuring, and add the acquisition only after definitive financials and funding terms are available. Free cash flow equals operating cash flow less capital expenditures; preferred dividends, conversion shares, warrants, and acquisition equity belong in the bridge from enterprise value to common equity.

What is the key takeaway from Data I/O analysis?

Data I/O is a small but strategically relevant supplier of semiconductor programming and security-provisioning infrastructure. Decades of algorithms, customer qualifications, factory integration, global service, and installed equipment create switching friction and aftermarket demand. They have not, however, produced consistent profitability at the company's current scale.

The analytical thesis
Data I/O's opportunity is to convert a cyclical programming-equipment franchise into a broader platform of adapters, software, security provisioning, and per-unit managed services. The proposed acquisition could accelerate that shift and nearly double revenue, while the $9 million financing provides runway. The counterweight is substantial: Q1 2026 revenue fell 47.4%, operating cash use reached $2.227 million, automotive represented 64% of FY2025 bookings, three customers represented 41% of FY2025 sales, and the financing creates meaningful dilution. The next proof points are Q2 revenue conversion, normalized operating expense, positive cash flow, definitive acquisition terms, target-company financial quality, PaaS unit economics, and the fully diluted share count.

Data I/O illustrates a core industrial-technology lesson: a real technical moat can coexist with weak economics when revenue is too small and cyclical for the fixed-cost base. The story improves only when bookings convert to revenue, recurring-like sales produce cash, and the acquisition adds scale without overwhelming the balance sheet or common shareholders.

DCF model

    5-Year Financial Model

    40+ Charts & Metrics

    DCF & Multiple Valuation

    Free Email Support



Disclaimer

All information, articles, and product details provided on this website are for general informational and educational purposes only. We do not claim any ownership over, nor do we intend to infringe upon, any trademarks, copyrights, logos, brand names, or other intellectual property mentioned or depicted on this site. Such intellectual property remains the property of its respective owners, and any references here are made solely for identification or informational purposes, without implying any affiliation, endorsement, or partnership.

We make no representations or warranties, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, completeness, or suitability of any content or products presented. Nothing on this website should be construed as legal, tax, investment, financial, medical, or other professional advice. In addition, no part of this site—including articles or product references—constitutes a solicitation, recommendation, endorsement, advertisement, or offer to buy or sell any securities, franchises, or other financial instruments, particularly in jurisdictions where such activity would be unlawful.

All content is of a general nature and may not address the specific circumstances of any individual or entity. It is not a substitute for professional advice or services. Any actions you take based on the information provided here are strictly at your own risk. You accept full responsibility for any decisions or outcomes arising from your use of this website and agree to release us from any liability in connection with your use of, or reliance upon, the content or products found herein.

(DAIO) Data I/O Corporation Bundle

Get Full Bundle:
$17 $9
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5
$9 $5